UNESCO

I’ve always wondered why the UNESCO club of our university has been called UNESCO. Today, I discovered exactly why!! UNESCO.org says that UNESCO has a program for bodies in memner-states by which UNESCO Clubs, Centres and Associates can be formed which have similar goals as UNESCO.

I figured that to offocially be part of UNESCO, we need an affiliation from the National Commission for Co-operation with UNESCO. I sent a mail to Dr. C Balakrishnan who happens to be the Secretary General of this body. Waiting to see what response I get….

Meanwhile, if YOU know anything about a local UNESCO foundation (Indian or particularly the Est, say Kolkata), do let me know..!

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

