8 random facts about me

I’ve been tagged by Poonam to do this! So, without further ado, here I go:

1. First things first, I am not well and at home. (All that junk food at KFC and the weddings!) 😦

2. I LOVE attention from people around me when I am unwell. I become this attention-seeking 9-month old who wants to be pampered and taken care of as if he were in a maternity ward!

drummer.gif3. I have been missing playing the drums ever since I got out of Engineering College (It’s been a good year and a half now!).. Actually I enjoyed the whole “band” experience – the teamwork, practicing till the wee hours of the morning.. Blah! Blah! — Read this (The Telegraph) to know more about my “band”-capades!

4. Taking up a job in the Corporate Sector was a HUGE ego-shattering experience for me – I went from President of the UNESCO Club in university to “analyst” in a company – a good 7 levels below where I belonged in my “previous” occupation! :mrgreen:

5. I am not much of a movie buff – Music is more my forte – I swear by Dire Straits and can live off a poster of Mark Knopfler. (Read this if you don’t believe me!)

6. I solve the Sudoku every morning – 90% of the days I can get it right within 10 minutes.. (ok.. 12.. depending upon the difficulty level!) .. πŸ˜›

7. Two flavours I love in my desserts: Chocolate / Orange. Interestingly, Cadbury had launched a Chocolate a few years ago – “Truffle” – flavoured chocolate – Orange was one of the flavours. I don’t see it around anymore!

8. I believe “99 % of the conflicts in the world are NOT because people have a difference of opinion but because they fail to see the other side of things” – the other POV! .. Not that I can do anything about it! — but these are just 8 random facts about me! πŸ˜‰

33 thoughts on “8 random facts about me

  1. he he…they are enjoyable. πŸ™‚

    Get well soon, though I know you must be enjoying the pampering. I have never played sudoku in my life. I an not at all into games, puzzles yes..I work like crazy on them though. πŸ™‚

    And you play drums! great! Play for me when I come to Calcutta πŸ™‚

  2. @ Ruhi,

    Pardon my memory… and my occupation for missing out on that one! .. Been wanting to.. But you mustve guessed by now what an insanely lazy person I can be..!

    On a more serious note, I think there was something happening at that time… Work schedules were very hectic.. which is probably why I was off blogging as well.. Catching up! πŸ™‚

  3. @ Poonam,

    Hehehe.. Yes I am enjoying the pampering and the “Minute Maid!”.. Thanks for the get-well wish ! πŸ™‚

    Will give u a taste of cacophony when we’re in the same city! :mrgreen:

  4. All right, apology accepted πŸ˜‰

    Didn’t know that you play the drums. That’s good stuff. πŸ™‚ And get well soon!

    @Poonam, You should try SuDoKu. Very addictive. πŸ˜€

  5. @ Ruhi,

    Yes I do.. Been doing it for over 7 years now.. Although I am totally out of touch now.. I plan to resume once certain other things are settled!

    At the cost of sounding narcissistic, our band did pretty well in inter-college rock music competitions! πŸ™‚

  6. @Amyth: Minute maid? who?

    @Ruhi, I keep away from all possibly addictive things. Perhaps that is why I don’t drink tea or coffee. Only occasionally.

    And then I proudly say, no vices. πŸ˜›

    Actually I waste so much time, there so many books at my place that are waiting to be read, movies to be watched, blog posts to be written plus work, can do without another past time sudoku. I can be mad wen it comes to puzzles and things like that. πŸ™‚

  7. @ Poonam,

    It’s a beverage company… More specifically, its an ORANGE Juice COmpany.. I particularly like “Pulpy Orange” – which honestly, is the only one i’ve had! .. Again… Orange Flavour, like I’ve said in my post above! πŸ˜‰

    check this out: http://www.minutemaid.com

    And yes, I can identify with the “books waiting to be read, movies to be watched” bit… πŸ˜›

  8. @ Pure..

    Hahaha.. Nice observation…! … I wish I cud answer all the “why’s”.. :mrgreen:

    Actually.. “none month old”.. coz its the RIGHT age when a child would “want” to seek attention.. Less than that he wudnt know “how to get attention”.. and more than that he would constantly be getting it anyway!

    πŸ˜‰

  9. i disagree. Children are attention-seekers from the day they are born. because they are tiny, one would want to keep a tab on them all the time. As they grow up the attention factor diminishes. That’s why siblings are jealous of younger bros/sis as they get all the attention!

  10. Hahehaehaehahea…

    True… But I think it takes around 9 months for infants to “understand” jealousy” and “attention”.. their learnning of the outside world doesn’t start when they’re inside!

  11. Random replies

    1. The main reason is you are a lazy fat ass and you need to move that bum of yours now and then. If not in the morning at the very least during evening hours.

    2. Ouch! When you are unwell?? I thought every artist craves an admirer 24x7x365.

    3. Well, then you are losing a very big part of your life’s passion. And I for one can vouch that you did that pretty well.

    4. At least you are an analyst, people like me are still lowly programmers. Well, I can’t complain. I reached only until vice-chairman or what ever the post was back in college.

    5. I can second you on that. But in the recent times you can sometime find time for “Johnny Gaddar”. I vouch for it being one of the best in the recent times in bollywood.

    6. For the easy level I have an average of around 7 mins. And depending on it being medium difficulty I average above 12. And if it goes into hard, evil … I don’t even crack my head over it.

    7. Eeeeshhhh! Orange with chocolate. Give some consideration to your taste buds. Its not the digestive system that always matters!!!

    8. Get the spelling of “beleive” right. It is “believe”. Your spell checker would have told you that. See I got your POV. And it is all that it takes.

  12. @ Suchintya

    You have hit the nail on the head on EACH of those..

    As usual.. Your words continue to amuse and inspire simultaneously! πŸ™‚

    And “Johnny Gaddar” I must watch now.. Coming from YOU, that’s quite a recommendation!

    ORANGE, by the way, is “finger-lickin’ good!” πŸ˜‰

    The spelling has been corrected! πŸ˜›

  13. Hey, you play the drums! That’s fab, maybe we can start a band someday! And since you’ve already been in one, you’ll help us with the experience. OK, enough day dreaming.

    I’m the exact same as you in 2. I believe the only time you can get undivided attention and make people work for you is when you’re sick. And since you’re terribly bored, any kind of happiness helps big time. I used to love when my mum would sit close to me and put those wet napkins when I had fever. These days she just throws a capsule and a glass of water and says..jaldi theek ho aur padhna shuru kar. πŸ˜›

  14. @ Ish,

    Yeah.. πŸ™‚ .. Had an amazing time with all the bands i’ve been with… been with 2-3 of them actually throughout school and college.. “The Wonder Years”… :mrgreen:
    BTW, do u play any musical instrument(s) ?

    Gimme five on “number 2”.. Life ROCKS when ur sick, doesn’t it?.. πŸ˜‰

  15. @ Ujjwal..

    Thanks!

    @ Dreamcatcher

    if you’re serious.. I would suggest you to get in touch with a good teacher for beginners i’m your city.. If you have the time and the space, you could also buy a drum-kit.. but for starters, going over to a teacher’s place and practicing / learning for a month or two would help you gauge your “comfort level” .. whether it’s really meant for you.. and Vice Versa! πŸ™‚

    For any other queries, “kindly revert”.. πŸ˜‰

  16. @ Ruhi,

    Brilliant!

    @ Ish ‘n Ruhi,

    We already seemed to have made some headway.. We have a guitarist (Ish), Keyboards (Ruhi), and myself for backing vocals and drums..

    Now we need

    1 – BASS Guitarist, 1 – Lead Vocalist.. and we’ll be in business!

    And a Manager, if we need one! :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

