And your name is..?

One’s name is one’s Identity. It is the sound that catches your ear when you are in a crowd – even though you might end up realizing that what you just heard merely “sounded like” your name but was actually not. A lot of people have been obsessed with names – their names or the “concept of name.”

In fact I came across a societyΒ  that offers an analysis of your first name – and even offer “services” of name change for a fee! According to them:

“Every alphabet has a consistent mathematical order, which allows it to be measured. An analysis of the letters in your name will determine the qualites of your personality. Your name determines your every experience. It defines your personal strengths [sic] and weaknesses both mentally and physically. It interprets your whole nature. It shows your position in life and your measure of success or failure. When you are named your destiny is created.”

Now while I do believe that having a catchy or “good-sounding” name can have an impact. I have noticed that people with ‘uncommon’ names usually get noticed very quickly. For instance, a name like Writankar – the name itself commands attention in a group. I’m sure more often that not, people with uncommon AND hard-to-pronounce names would find themselves in a situation where they’d have to repeat their name to the listener and instantly this translates into the former occupying more of the latter’s mind-space! – No Wonder Ekta Kapoor spells out the names of her Soaps with 2 K’s, 3 G’s and what not! — Astrological reasons aside, it is about mind-space! — It is about the casual observer noticing weird spelling, perhaps! Who knows?

The effect is in my opinion temporary. It is your experiences, your interactions and your thoughts which ultimately mould your individuality. So what the “observer” finally concludes about you will depend on more than your name – Moreover, it will depend on factors that have nothing to do with it!

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet. ”

— William Shakespeare

My first name is – “Amit” is a fairly common one – helps me maintain a low profile – especially in a crowd where people don’t know me! For the curious and the casual, “Amit” has 2 meanings – One drawn from the Hebrew and the other from Sanskrit:

Amit (Hebrew) – friend, comrade

Amit (Sanskrit) – Infinite

Additional info (thanks to Baby Names World πŸ˜‰ ):

If written with the Hebrew letter Ayin, Amit is a male or female name meaning “friend; comrade”. If written with the letter Aleph, Amit is a female name meaning “honest, upright”. Amit is also a male Indian name, meaning “infinite, un-measurable” in Sanskrit.

So what’s your name.. and what does it mean?

And while you dwell on that and tell me… Watch this:

14 thoughts on “And your name is..?

  1. I was going to click on the link you have provided but then I scrolled down and got all the answers here itself. πŸ˜†
    I didn’t know my name had a Hebrew meaning too. WOW.
    And I used to fight with my parents about the lenght of my name. I always wanted something like Amitabh. πŸ™‚

  2. @ Amit

    You’re my namesake! :mrgreen:

    I was initially going to be named “Jai”.. But then my folks changed their mind. … Probably I looked more
    “Amit” than “Jai”.. πŸ˜‰ ..

  3. Okay, my name is Ishmeet. “Ish” is from Ishwar and “Meet” is I guess friend. So according to my parents/elders, I’m supposed to be God’s friend or God’s messenger. However, that is very ironical because I don’t think I’m any of those two. I don’t even believe in God much for starters.

    And that website doesn’t have my name’s meaning. It’s pretty uncommon. And I’ve seen more girls with this name than guys. The only guy was probably the one that won Voice of India. He happens to be from my city actually. But he believes in God and he didn’t deserve to win so I’m not a big fan of his.

  4. @ Ish

    Interesting! – And yes, Ishmeet is not “common enough” for the website to have the name. Probably the Indian Baby Names website (s) would have it along with the meaning!

    I rememebr reading a post you had written about Ishmeet of Voice-of-India fame! πŸ˜‰ .. and how you spoke about his being your namesake!

    @ KK: :mrgreen: ..

  5. Amit Haralalka has a low profile ! This must be the joke of the century !!! [:D]

    Although nice refreshing post in this world of social consciousness, self-introspection and financial market analysis. Keep it up man!

  6. @ Suchintya,

    I’ve been maintaining a low profile unlike my “hey days” in college! πŸ˜‰ .. For starters, very few people at my work-place knows about my drumming!

  7. @Amyth : Jai??? Reminds me of “Sholey”. πŸ™‚
    @Ish : Don’t worry. There are many people whose names are not there in the database. There is one friend of mine named “Atipriya”. Even she was very sad when we couldn’t find her name there. πŸ™‚

  8. Atipriya is an interesting name. At least she could have found Priya there..ati ka matlab to pata hi hai. So it becomes Ati+Priya. Mera kya hoga, I neither found Ish nor Meet there. πŸ˜›

  9. @ Amit & Ish: Yeah… “Ati+Priya” would mean very dear! πŸ˜› ..

    @ Ish: Ish.. there is a part on the site where you can enter your name if you didnt find it in their database.. Try keying in your name and letting them know… :mrgreen:

  10. @ Ish: I understand! πŸ™‚ … The only reason I suggested you key in your name is coz it would be interesting to know if they actually take the time out to “research” on new names.. and if they do.. how close are they? …. Not that it matters.. but just for kicks! πŸ˜›

  11. I couldn’t find where to key in my name. Do it yourself and tell me if any reply comes. Otherwise gimme the link to where that part of the site is supposed to be. It should be interesting to see if they come up with something. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

