Tastiest Dessert EVER: Green Tea Donut – The General, New York City

It’s one of those desserts where you don’t believe that it actually tastes the way it does. ‘The Green Tea Donut with Mascarpone Cream’ attracts you like a sonnet at first sight. And later, it unfolds like an epic inside your mouth. One part of it melts in your mouth (the cream), while the other part of it (the donut) is heated enough to retain its form and blends in with everything else to add texture.

Anyway, for the sake of the foodie in me (and in the foodie in you), I shall come straight to the point. I had this at a place called The General on the Lower East Side in Manhattan, New York City. It is described as an Asian Fusion food and we had some good music playing. It was quite crowded and was recommended to us (me and a friend visiting from Canada) as a “hip and happening restaurants on LES” by someone who knows the night-life really well.

While the dinner otherwise was good (with a better than average band playing some good classic rock), the Green Tea Donut stole the show for us. It was easily one of the best desserts I have had. It’s strong enough to bring me back from my blog-hybernation!

Take a look:

Image

It is basically a donut with super-yum green tea mascarpone cream stuffed into it and on top of it. It literally oozes with the cream. Mascarpone cream is an Italian cheese made from Cream (just keeping it simple) – And in this dessert, the cream has a Green Tea taste. And the end result is magical. It is finger-licking good!

I am not advertising, but here are a few links to resources around this, but:

Oh, and if you’ve had it (either before OR after reading this), do let me know.. I love discussing good food! 🙂

NOTE: Picture Courtesy: Foxnews.com

2 thoughts on “Tastiest Dessert EVER: Green Tea Donut – The General, New York City

Leave a comment